NCAA Woman of the Year Finalist
Courtesy: Rider Sports Information  
Release:  08/06/2012

Virginia Egusquiza
Courtesy: Peter G. Borg (Rider University)
View larger

College Athletics
Rider's Egusquiza NCAA Woman of the Year Finalist

INDIANAPOLIS, Ind.--Rider University graduate and former field hockey player Virginia Egusquiza has been selected as a finalist for the 2012 NCAA Woman of the Year award it was recently announced.

Egusquiza, a native of Getxo, Spain, who earned a degree in Business Administration and International Business this past May, is one of 429 student-athletes from Divisions I, II and III from across all NCAA sports to receive a nomination this year.

Egusquiza was nominated by the Northeast Conference and a quarter of those honorees received the additional recognition by their sport conference for outstanding achievement in their collegiate career.

"We are so proud that the conference has selected Virginia for this prestigious honor," said head coach Lori Hussong, who is beginning her 13th season at Rider.  "We are extremely happy that her accomplishments, both on and off the field are being recognized, not only on the conference level but nationally as well."

Egusquiza, who is Rider's all-time leading scorer and all-time assist leader, was a Longstreth/NFHCA Mid-Atlantic Region First Team honoree for the second season in a row and was named to the All-America Second Team by Synapse Sports (formally and earned Third Team All-America honors from the National Field Hockey Coaches Association (NFHCA).

An 80-game veteran, Egusquiza led Rider to the NCAA Play-In game for the second season in a row and was named to the 2011 NEC All-Tournament team and was tournament MVP as the Broncs defeated Monmouth in the NEC championship game.

Egusquiza was the NEC Player of the Year for the third season in a row and earned First Team NEC honors for the fourth time.

The NCAA award honors graduating female student-athletes who have distinguished themselves throughout their collegiate careers in academic achievement, athletics excellence, service and leadership.

The nominees will be narrowed down to 10 from each division and the list will be announced in September with the winner of the award being honored on October 14 in Indianapolis.


RIDER Field Hockey

Bronc Vision
Live Video and Audio
Launch Player

Join Now Member Login

Rider Logo Adjustable Hat

Athletes of the Year
B.J. Clagon
Emily Ritter