Molloy Honored by the MAAC Again
Courtesy: Rider Sports Information  
Release:  12/04/2012

Brian Molloy
Courtesy: Peter G. Borg (Rider University)
View larger

College Swimming & Diving
Rider's Molloy MAAC Male Swimmer of the Week Again

EDISON--For the second time this season, senior Brian Molloy of the Rider University swimming and diving team was named the Metro Atlantic Athletic Conference Male Swimmer of the Week.

Molloy (Toms River/Toms River HS East), a Mathematics major, was honored for all competition November 26-December 2.

"Brian is very disciplined in training and is an intelligent racer," said head coach Steve Fletcher.  "His performances the first semester are a strong indicator of the competitive mark he will leave on our program as a senior."

At the three-day Brown Invite, Molloy swam against some of the top regional competition in the East.

Molloy finished third in the 500 free with a life-time best 4:30.07 and fourth in the 100 free with a time of 45.42.

"The meet went well," said Molloy.  "A lot of the swimmers has a breakout meet and swam lifetime bests."

Molloy also swam the 200 free finishing in seventh place with a final time of 1:40.15 after a posting a time of 1:39.56 in the preliminaries.

In the relay competition, Molloy led off the 400 free relay that was seventh finishing in 3:04.13 and the 800 free relay that was seventh finishing in 6:49.58, while anchoring the 400 medley relay that touched in 14th place with a final time of 3:30.14.

Molloy was previously honored by the MAAC for all competition November 12-18, 2012 and it is the third MAAC award for Molloy in his career, having been recognized October 25, 2010.

"It is exciting to think of how much more we can add to his facing with 10 weeks to go in the season," Fletcher said.

Rider returns to the pool on January 12, 2013 when the Broncs take on Loyola University Maryland in a MAAC meet at Coppola Pool in the Maurer Center.


RIDER Swimming & Diving

Bronc Vision
Live Video and Audio
Launch Player

Join Now Member Login

Rider Logo Adjustable Hat

Athletes of the Year
B.J. Clagon
Emily Ritter