Funk/Hiller Honored by the MAAC
Courtesy: Rider Sports Information  
Release:  01/15/2013

Johnny Funk / Trevor Hiller
Courtesy: Peter G. Borg (Rider University)
View larger

College Swimming & Diving
Rider's Funk / Hiller Honored by the MAAC

EDISON--Senior Johnny Funk and junior Trevor Hiller of the Rider University men's swimming and diving team were named the Metro Atlantic Athletic Conference Male Swimmer and Diver of the Week for all competition January 7-13, it was announced Tuesday afternoon.

Funk (Las Vegas, Nev. (Southeast Career & Tech. Academy) won the 100 back (53.68), the 200 back (1:58.55) and the 200 IM (1:54.79) and helped the 400 medley relay to a Coppola pool record (3:28.32) as Rider defeated Loyola Maryland in a MAAC meet on January 12.

The relay beat the 3:29.43 time from November 5, 2005.  The record was held by Josh Rosenbluth, Brandon Modrov, Daniel Burgess and Stuart Barr.

"I'm happy that Johnny received the conference recognition," said head coach Steve Fletcher.  "As a senior and one of the leaders on the team, he is very deserving of the honor.  Johnny wanted to leave a mark on Saturday and he certainly did that with the relay record."

Hiller (Galloway Twp./Absegami) won both the one-meter dive (278.10) and the three-meter dive (326.02) in the MAAC meet against Loyola.

"Trevor did an amazing job against Loyola," said diving coach Eric Blevins.  "He has been working on a few new dives to gear up for the conference championships and the NCAA zones and the dives are coming along nicely."

This is the fourth time this season that Hiller has earned the MAAC Male Diver of the Week award (October 16, October 23, November 20).

"It is nice to see Trevor's hard work paying off," Blevins added.

Rider travels to Saint Peter's University on Saturday for a MAAC meet at 10am.

The 2013 MAAC Men's and Women's Swimming & Diving Championships will be held February 14-16 at the Burt Flickinger Center in Buffalo, New York.


RIDER Swimming & Diving

Bronc Vision
Live Video and Audio
Launch Player

Join Now Member Login

Rider Logo Adjustable Hat

Athletes of the Year
B.J. Clagon
Emily Ritter