Men repeat as MAAC champions / Women 2nd
Courtesy: Rider Sports Information  
Release:  02/16/2013

Rider men repeat as MAAC champs
Courtesy: ...
View larger

College Swimming and Diving - at MAAC Championships
Rider men-defend MAAC title / Rider women-Runner up
Rider's Kelly O'Connor Female Co-Outstanding Swimmer of the Meet
Rider's Hiller Male Outstanding Diver of the Meet

BUFFALO, N.Y.--Both the Rider University men's and women's swimming and diving teams competed at the 2013 Metro Atlantic Athletic Conference championships in Buffalo, New York, Thursday through Saturday at the Erie Community College Burt Flickinger Athletic Center.

The Rider men's team won the MAAC championship for the second season in a row and the women's team finished runner-up for the fourth year in a row.

The Rider men outscored Marist 576.00-559.50 to defend their title. The Bronc men topped Marist by 119.50 points last year. The Bronc women fell to 14 time champ Marist by 193-points (801-608).

On Saturday for the Rider men, freshman Jeffrey Prichard (Yorktown, Va./Tabernacle) won MAAC gold in the 200 back (1:50.32), senior Brian Molloy (Toms River/Toms River East) won the 100 free (45.40) and junior diver junior Trevor Hiller (Galloway Twp./Absegami) was the one-meter champion (281.20).  Hiller was named the MAAC Male Most Outstanding Diver of the Meet after placing runner-up on the three-meter board.

"Trevor getting MAAC Diver of the Meet is great," said diving coach Eric Blevins.  "It shows that all of his hard work is paying off.  And Wayco earning finals on both boards is amazing.  The men's championship was truly a team effort."

On Saturday for the Rider women, senior Addie Oswald Henderson, Nev./Green Valley) won her third straight MAAC gold in the 200-back (2:02.22) and senior Kelly O'Connor (Beverly, Mass./Beverly) won the 200 fly (2:03.17) for the third year in a row.  O'Connor was named the Female Co-Outstanding Swimmer of the Meet after also winning the 200 and 400 IM.

Also for the Bronc men, senior Julien Hensen (Delafield, Wisc./Kettle Moraine) was third in the 200 breast (2:02.51), sophomore Shane Tubb (Swedesboro/St. Augustine Prep) was fourth in the 200 fly (1:51.55), freshman Adam Phillips (Springville, Pa./Elk Lake) was sixth in the 200 breast (2:05.18), senior Johnny Funk (Las Vegas, Nev./Southeast Career & Tech. Academy) was seventh in the 200 back (1:54.40), diver Wayco Bailey (Casper, Wyo./Natrona County HS) was seventh on the one-meter board (216.35) and junior Sean Newhouse (Katy, Tex./Morton Ranch) was eighth in the 100 free (46.91).

Also for the Bronc women, sophomore Rachel Brooker (Stevens, Pa./Cocalico) placed fourth in the 200 fly (2:06.60), junior Melanie Leonhard (Piscataway) was fourth in the 1650 free (17:27.84), sophomore Carlee Oswald (Henderson, Nev./Green Valley) was fifth in the 200 back (2:08.12), sophomore Gess Charniga (Kendall Park/South Brunswick) was fifth in the 100 free (52.64), freshman Taylor Shelley (Wilmington, Del./Padua Academy) was fifth in the 200 breast (2:25.46) sophomore Morgan Kandrac (Hamilton/Notre Dame) was sixth in the 200 breast (2:25.63), junior Danielle Warwick (Catonsville, Md./Mount de Sales Academy) was sixth in the 200 back (2:08.70) and freshman Kaitlyn O'Connor (Beverly, Mass./Beverly)  was seventh in the 200 fly (2:09.00).

Other men's results include sophomore Zach DeLillo (Reading, Pa./Wilson) placing 12th in the 200 fly (1:55.86), senior Matt Mitchell (Lakeville, Minn./Lakeville North) placing 13th in the 200 fly (1:56.63) and sophomore Kevin McManus (Sharon, Mass./Sharon) placing 13th in the 1650 free (16:40.92)

Other women's results include, sophomore Heather Good (Hillsborough) taking ninth in the 200 breast (2:25.60), senior Katlyn Andrews (Lawrenceville/Notre Dame) placing 11th in the 100 free (53.59), freshman Erin Westcott (Unionville, Conn./Farmington) placing 11th in the 200 back (2:10.00) and junior Megan Mullaney (Stony Brook, N.Y./Ward Melville) finishing 14th in the 1650 free (18:07.82).

The men's 400 free relay team of Molloy, Funk, Prichard and Hensen won in 3:03:89. Funk and Hensen were on the winning 400 relay team at last year's MAAC championships.

The women's 400 free relay team of Andrews, A. Oswald, senior Carly Misiewicz (Vineland/Sacred Heart) and Charniga placed fourth (3:31.90).

This is Rider's third men's team title (2004, 2012, 2013) and the Bronc men have placed runner-up 14 times since 1996.  The Bronc women have won three team titles (2001, 2003, 2009) and have placed runner-up 12 times since 1998.

Rider competes at the 2013 Eastern College Athletic Conference (ECAC) championships, hosted by the Harvard March 1-3.


RIDER Swimming & Diving

Bronc Vision
Live Video and Audio
Launch Player

Join Now Member Login

Rider Logo Adjustable Hat

Athletes of the Year
B.J. Clagon
Emily Ritter