MAAC Adds 3 Associate Members
Courtesy: Rider Sports Information  
Release:  05/29/2013

Courtesy: Brian David Solomon (Rider University)
View larger

MAAC Council of Presidents Approve the Addition of Three Associate Members in Field Hockey


Edison, N.J. - The Metro Atlantic Athletic Conference's (MAAC) Council of Presidents approved the addition of three associate members for field hockey in the 2013 season. 

Bryant University, Robert Morris University, and Sacred Heart University will join Monmouth University, Quinnipiac University, Rider University and Siena College in the newly added field hockey league in 2013. Fairfield University will join the league in the 2015-16 academic year.

“The MAAC is excited to sponsor Field Hockey in the fall of 2013, and the addition of the three associate members is a real positive for the conference,” notes Marshall Foley, Associate Commissioner/Championships at the MAAC. “The MAAC has been committed throughout its history to providing championship opportunities for student-athletes in all sports at its member institutions, and Field Hockey is the next step in that tradition.”

Bryant finished the 2012 campaign with an overall record of 6-13 and a 3-4 mark in the Northeast Conference. 

Robert Morris finished their 2012 season at 5-13 overall and a 2-5 league mark in the Northeast Conference.

Sacred Heart ended the 2012 year with a record of 6-11 overall and 1-6 in Northeast Conference play.

“With the ever-changing conference landscape in college athletics, the addition of Sacred Heart, Robert Morris and Bryant as associate members of the MAAC field hockey league will provide stability and preserve some existing rivalries the teams may have established in other leagues," notes Karin Torchia, chair of the field hockey league. “It will also benefit the MAAC as a whole in continuing to be able to provide NCAA automatic qualifier and play-in opportunities for all the field hockey student-athletes.” 

The MAAC has added various sports throughout the years in an effort to develop opportunities for student-athletes.  In June of 1995, the conference announced the formation of the MAAC Men’s and Women’s Lacrosse leagues, with the men beginning competition in the spring of 1996 while the women commenced in the spring of 1997. The MAAC added women’s water polo in 2002, with competition currently between three MAAC schools – Iona College, Marist College and Siena – as well as four associate members: Saint Francis (N.Y.) College, Villanova University, the Virginia Military Institute and Wagner College.  The MAAC also has associate members in men’s lacrosse (University of Detroit Mercy), women’s rowing (Drake University, Jacksonville University, Robert Morris University and Sacred Heart University), men’s rowing (Jacksonville University) women’s golf (University at Albany and the University of Hartford) and men’s swimming & diving (Bryant University).

RIDER Field Hockey

Bronc Vision
Live Video and Audio
Launch Player

Join Now Member Login

Rider Logo Adjustable Hat

Athletes of the Year
B.J. Clagon
Emily Ritter