Home Doubleheader 12 Noon Today
Courtesy: Rider Sports Information  
Release:  04/19/2014

Kurt Sowa seeking win #19
Courtesy: Peter G. Borg (Rider University)
View larger

Baseball Hosts Niagara Saturday

LAWRENCEVILLE, NJ—The three-game Metro Atlantic Athletic Conference baseball series at Rider this weekend continues Saturday at 12 noon, with the Broncs hosting the Niagara University Purple Eagles.

Niagara (11-21, 4-7 MAAC) won the first game on Friday, 7-6. It was just the second Niagara win over Rider in the last 10 meetings.

On the mound for Rider (10-21, 3-5 MAAC) will be junior lefty Zach Mawson (Magnolia, DE/Caesar Rodney) and junior righty Kurt Sowa (Bensalem, PA/Fr. Judge).

Mawson will be seeking his third win of the season, pitching the seven-inning game at noon.

Sowa, the 2013 MAAC Pitcher of the Year, will be looking for his third win of the year and the 19th of his career.  Opponents are batting just .220 against Sowa this year.

Pitching for Niagara Saturday will be a pair of right-handers, senior Drew Fittry (1-2) and freshman Liam Stroud (0-6). 

The Purple Eagles are led by right fielder Anthony Firenzi, who was named the MAAC Player of the Week last week. The leadoff hitter is batting .314 for the season with 38 hits and 20 runs scored in 30 games with eight stolen bases in 11 attempts.

The Broncs have a few base stealers of their own in junior Nick Richter (Fox River Grove, Ill./Cary-Grove) and senior  Nick Crescenzo (Hammonton, NJ/Hammonton).

Richter (.319) ranks 15th in the nation with 20 steals (24 attempts) in 31 games. Crescenzo (.278) stole a career-high five bases against Wagner and is now 15 for 17 on the base paths this year, 28th in the nation.

Leading the Rider offense is junior first baseman Justin Thomas (Richboro, PA/Council Rock South), who is batting .356 with 42 hits in 31 games, including 11 doubles. He has 28 RBI and a slugging percentage of .559.


RIDER Baseball

Bronc Vision
Live Video and Audio
Launch Player

Join Now Member Login

Rider Logo Adjustable Hat

Athletes of the Year
B.J. Clagon
Emily Ritter